Tags

, , ,

More than a few years ago, I went strawberry picking for the first time….and I had a blast and always vowed to do it again. Last year came and went and we were just never able to get that opportunity during the season. Last weekend I told Alan (the aforementioned hubby), that I wanted desperately to get there this year. So with Saturday’s weather forecasted to be a beautiful warm spring day, my thoughts were sounds like prime ‘pickin’ time to me.

Off we went late Saturday morning, to gather our bikes at my mom’s house, because, ‘hey it’s going to be a beautiful day, lets ride the towpath after picking,’ then off we went on our adventure. We arrived early afternoon at Traugers Farms Market in Kintnersville, an awesome family owned farm alongside the Delaware River. So with bowls in hand, Alan and I set off for the strawberry patch, ready to go.

After a quick lesson on which berries were the best for picking for Alan, we set off down the rows. They were absolutely beautiful berries

And we picked, and we picked, and we picked……

In the middle of all this picking….good old mother nature decided, no sun needed, how about a rain shower or two. Alan and I spent a good twenty minutes or so, picking strawberries in the rain. It was actually kinda fun. Once we had our two rather large bowls filled, we headed back into the store, to get them weighed and pay up…..the grand total around 13 pounds of strawberries.

Take a peek at the fruits of our labor:

So far the deliciousness that has been made from these wonderful berries has been, homemade full on fat Strawberry Ice Cream

Strawberry Ice Cream in the works!!!

Homemade Strawberry Freezer Jam and boy and boy lots of it….

Strawberry Freezer Jam

We have eaten a ton of strawberries here and there throughout last night and today, and also had them on our cereal this morning.  Needless to say, we still have a TON of them left, debating what else to make with them…I am quite sure I will figure it out. Any suggestions, just leave a comment.

Oh yeah, and that bike ride….well it never happened in the afternoon on the towpath by the river…..mother nature just would not cooperate. However Alan and I took the bikes to the newly opened Saucon Valley Rail Trail and investigated that. I must say, quite impressed, very wide stoned pathways to enjoy nature.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

-Jessica

