Tags

, ,

First off….let me apologize for the lengthy time between posts. It’s not that I haven’t had blog ideas, seems that life has gotten in the way. I am quite sure you all understand.

So question for you all? Do you look forward on a monthly basis for a certain magazine to appear in your mailbox? I absolutely love getting mail, I love all kinds of mail, but one of the best days is when I open the mailbox and see that the latest Cooking Light magazine. I love browsing the magazine in search of the latest ‘try me’ recipe.

Well anyway, in the July issue of the magazine the light shined down on  Baked Ziti and Summer Veggies Recipe. I love baked ziti to begin with, however I loved that fact that they made the recipe with such wonderful fresh summer veggies. So it had seemed I had found my new recipe….so I invited my mom over for dinner last Sunday night to try it out on her and my hubby.

The recipe itself was rather simple to put together and the cooking time wasn’t too bad either. I started by chopping all the fresh veggies and sauteing them in the skillet for the required amount of time.

Veggies simmering in the skillet

After combining the ricotta, salt and egg and stirring that into the pasta and veggie mixture, I spooned it into an 8-inch square baking dish.

Dinner is in the dish - prebaked.

The baking dish gets placed in 400 degree oven for 15 minutes. When it is completed voila:

Dinner is just about ready....

On the plate...ready to be enjoyed.

I paired the Baked Ziti with some (not so good for you) Texas Toast and the much better side of a nice fresh salad.

My mom and myself completely enjoyed the meal. The ziti had wonderful flavor and freshness….the hubby….if I recall he said to me later in the night ‘dinner wasn’t too bad, but it wouldn’t be something that I would request often.’  Hubby is a real trooper for being a human guinea pig with my ‘try me’ meals, so I can’t really complain that he doesn’t rave about them all.

On note to consider, the recipe calls for four ounces of dry ziti (pre-cooked), that didn’t look like it would be enough ziti, so I doubled that, and for my taste, it was the perfect amount….four ounces wouldn’t have been enough.

We are coming up on the weekend and I hope that you all have fantastic plans.

– Jessica

Photo credit: My amateur self with our Nikon camera.

