Tags

, ,

So in my thirtysome years of life….one of my absolute FAVORITE cookies has been Oatmeal Raisin. I credit that love from my Dad….it was his favorite as well. Actually, just about all of my family loves them. Perhaps my mom’s favorite is Chocolate Chip, however she like a good oatmeal raisin once in a while too.

When the hubby and I started dating, one of the many questions I asked in order to start to get to know him better was ‘What is your favorite cookie?’ Surprise, surprise, Oatmeal Raisin was his as well.

So anyway…the hubby and I will be heading to the beach for a day some time this week and I enjoy having a little snack to nibble on while there and since I hadn’t made any cookies since around Christmas time, I thought it was about time. While out grocery shopping this past weekend, I was purchasing some of the supplies needed for the good ‘ol traditional Oatmeal Raisin, when I had this genius idea….why not Wild Blueberries?

Tonight was the night for experiment ‘Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies’….

Here is my ‘traditional’ recipe:

1/2 pound butter, softened
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)
3 cups Oats (quick or old-fashioned, uncooked)
1 cup raisins*

* Except tonight I used 1 cup wild blueberries (that is what they are called at Wegmans, perhaps you’ll find them as dried blueberries)

Oatmeal Blueberry Cookies

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Beat together butter and sugars until creamy.
3. Add eggs, vanilla; beat well.
4. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well.
5. Stir in oats and raisins (blueberries); mix well.
6. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.
7. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden.
8. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet; remove to wire rack.

About 4 dozen.

The results: I like them…do I love them, not quite sure yet, I will have to eat more than one. I tend to think (from just eating one) that the oats are a bit stronger than the blueberry taste. That being said, it is certainly a nice alternative to raisins.

Try out the recipe, let me know what your thoughts are.

– Jessica
photo credit: Me.

