Tags

, ,

So originally I was going to use this forum as a space to strictly discuss my passion for all things food. However in doing some soul-searching and hard thinking (which is still a work in progress) about where exactly I’d like to take this blog, I’ve decided that I will start sharing other parts about my life on here as well.

I have been trying a lot of new recipes this week, however the biggest thing on my plate this week so far has been a concern about a spot on my dog’s leg. You see Tabby is a 9-year-old Yellow lab who has been with me for all but 3 months of her life. She is the BEST dog a girl could ever have. She is a really well-behaved girl and I am extremely lucky.

Here's my girl!!!

So anyway back to my concern this week…she just began licking this spot on her leg and so me be overly dramatic (hey wouldn’t you) I automatically thought it was some kind of cancerous tumor. Alan told me not to jump to conclusions and take her to see the vet. So yesterday Tabby and I braved the wicked heat and off we went to see Dr. Laura (who we LOVE). After waiting what seemed like an eternity in the waiting room, we got to see Dr. Laura and she diagnosed Tabby with a fatty wart (sorry, don’t mean to be gross). Thank goodness!!! My over reactions were for nothing. So our course of action for miss Tabby is Benadryl for now. She is on it for a couple of weeks twice a day in the hopes that it will take the itching away and therefore make her stay away from it. If that doesn’t seem to do the trick, we will eventually have it removed with a local. Thankfully all of my concerns are for nothing all that serious and we still have a very happy doggie.

Once we got home from our visit to Dr. Laura, naturally we humans in the house had to eat and we were starving. Alan had spent a very long day at work, and just arrived home around the same time that Tabby and I did.  It was one of those days where because you are so exhausted from work (Alan) and worry (me) that if I hadn’t of had a meal already planned, we probably would have been eating some very unhealthy foods. No worries though, before we had gone to the vet’s, I had prepared part of the meal, so I didn’t have any excuse as to not make it.

I just recently got the latest issue of Cooking Light and of course the photo on the front cover got me at first glance, and so I had to make it pronto. I made Salmon with Tomato-Peach Salsa. I have to admit that I was a little worried about the salsa part, as I am not a huge fan of fruit mixed in a meal, however….I needn’t have worried. This was a delicious and quite healthy meal.  I prepared the Salmon on the George Forman grill and had the salsa all ready to go, so for being as tired as I was it didn’t take but about 10 minutes for dinner to be ready.

I will certainly be making this again and when I do, I promise to take quite a few photos and post a photo blog entry with recipe.

I hope that all of you are surviving this dreaded heat and humidity and are doing all the best you can. Stay cool.

-Jessica

photo credit: jjohnson

