Tags

, ,

Since Alan and I got married a few short months ago and moved into our own place, I still head over to my mom’s house at least once a week to mow her lawn and do any other little things she has on a to do list.  Not that my mom isn’t capable of doing these thing, however my mom suffers from Fibromyalgia which  is one of the numerous non-visual diseases whom many people are afflicted. She may look perfectly fine, but may be having huge amounts of pain. So me heading over after work to do these ‘jobs’ are my way of trying to help her out. At times (usually every other week, Alan joins us and does some bigger lawn maintenance items).

This week however it was just Mom and I and she had planned what is becoming one of my favorite meals!!! She makes an absolutely AWESOME Eggplant Tomato Casserole. I cannot say enough about it. She made it with fresh eggplant that she just picked from her garden and it simply tasted so fresh. After taking care of the lawn and jumping in the shower for a cool down, her Eggplant Tomato Casserole with a nice glass of Barefoot Moscato was just what I needed.

Not only did I eat an awesome meal prepared by the best mom in the world, I have really come to enjoy my “mom and I” nights, where we can just sit around enjoying a glass of wine, chit chatting!!!

So thanks MOM for the best dinner last night….YOU are the best.

Recipe interest you? Well here it is. Try it out and let me know what you think.

Eggplant –Tomato Casserole

1 medium to large eggplant

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup breadcrumbs

½ tsp salt

½ cup olive oil

½ cup onion, chopped

½ c green or red  peppers, chopped

1 tbsp dried parsley

1 clove of garlic

2 tbsp butter

Dash of pepper, optional

¼ tsp dried basil

2 cups canned, chopped tomatoes – I used 1 can of diced tomatoes

1 cup of sharp or mozzarella cheese

1 tbsp of sugar to sauce

Pare eggplant, I peel skin off, Cut into ½ inch slices. Dip into egg

And then into salted breadcrumbs.

Heat oil in large  skillet. Sauté eggplant until golden, brown on both

Sides. Place in shallow sprayed baking dish.

Cook onion, pepper and garlic in butter for about 5 minutes. Add seasonings

And tomatoes and blend well.

Spoon over eggplant and top with cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.

Make 6 servings

-Jessica

photo credit: me

