Tags

, ,

I try to not bake too many ‘treats’ on the weekends, because if they are delicious then I tend to want to over indulge in them. However I found a recipe for  Banana Blueberry Muffins and was intrigued, so I thought that instead of the normal “Special” breakfast on Sunday, I would try these muffins.

They turned out really well, however I would have to say that I think the recipe is supposed to be for a larger size muffin pan. I used regular sized ones and the amount of blueberries per muffin was quite a bit. So much so that they tended to over power the rest of the flavors. That is not to say that I wouldn’t try them again however.

Alan and I very much enjoyed them in the morning for breakfast and I stored away a few more for another breakfast this week. I then packaged up the rest and took them to my sister-in-laws house for her Thirty-one Party. They also seemed to be a huge hit there as well. So I tend to think that if they all disappear the recipe is a keeper.

Do you have a favorite breakfast muffin that you tend to make on a regular basis? Share the recipe, I’d love to try new and different muffins.

-Jessica

photo credit: Me

Banana Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients

serves makes 12 muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups light brown sugar
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups fresh blueberries
  • Cooking spray

Procedures

  1. Preheat oven to 350°, and prepare muffin tin by spraying with cooking spray, or lining with disposable muffin cups. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and mix until well combined.
  2. Beat in eggs, then add sugar and beat until well combined and almost smooth. Add mashed bananas and vegetable oil then fold in blueberries.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in a muffin comes out almost clean.
