Tags

, , , ,

With nearly 25 pounds of apples from our apple picking adventure at Solebury Orchards, the next thought is of course, what do I do with all these apples? Follow me on my journey through what I made:

The first thing I decided to make was good old homemade applesauce. I first made my own applesauce about two years ago, and was so completely in love with it, that every fall, I need to either go picking for apples or at least purchase a rather large amount so that I can make a big pot of applesauce.  I don’t generally follow any particular recipe, I first and foremost wash the apples in the kitchen sink, then I just merely quarter the apples, place them in a large stockpot, add some cinnamon and even a little nutmeg, add a little water (side note: because I was using my new cookware, the ones I recently wrote about in a previous blog) I added a little too much this time.

I place the pot on the stove and over medium heat I let them cook down for approximately and hour or so. You will notice the apples breaking down and shrinking. Once the apples have cooked down, I take a portion of the cooked apples and place them in a food mill and puree them. Once I have pureed the entire stockpot, I tend to add a little more cinnamon and depending on how sweet you like your applesauce a little sugar. I think that this time around, I used approximately two tablespoons for an entire batch. All in all a very healthy, delicious snack.

Applesauce - the finished product

The second item I made was two homemade apple pies. After looking through a few cookbooks, I decided on the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book. I made the Crumb Topped Fruit Pie.

Preparation for the Apple Pies

Going into the oven

One of the finished products.

Crumb Topped Fruit Pie
2/3 cup rolled oats
2/3 cup flour
½ cup packed brown sugar
¼ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. ground cinnamon
6 tbsp. butter
1 recipe Fruit-Pie filling

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a 9-inch pie dish with crust (I used pre-made).
  2. In a medium bowl stir together the oats, flour, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. Using pastry blender or fingers cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl prepare desired Fruit-Pie Filling, first combining the sugar and starch in the amounts specified for desired fruit. Add desired Fruit Gently toss fruit until coated.
  4. Transfer fruit filling to the pastry-lined pie plate. Sprinkle oats mixture over filling.
  5. To prevent overbrowning, cover edge of pie with foil. Bake 30 minutes. Remove foil. Bake for 35-40 minutes more or until fruit is tender and topping is golden. (If necessary, loosely cover top or pie with foil the last 10-15 minutes.) Cool on a wire rack.

Fruit-Pie Filling
6 cups of apples, sliced
½ to ¾ cup Sugar
2 tbsp. flour

The third goodie that I made was Apple Cake from the Mennonite Country-style Recipes & Kitchen Secrets. I cannot say how this one tasted as Alan took this dish to work for his co-workers. I will say that because the pan came home complete empty, not even any crumbs, it must have tasted pretty good.

Apple Cake

¾ cup butter
1 ½ cups sugar
2 eggs
1 ¾ cups flour
1 tsp. soda
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
¼ tsp. nutmeg
¼ cup flour
4 cups raw apples, diced
½ cup chopped walnuts

  1. Cream thoroughly the butter and sugar.
  2. Add, eggs, beating until fluffy.
  3. Sift together the flour through nutmeg, then add.
  4. Dust apples and nuts with flour, then fold in.
  5. Pour into greased and floured 9 x 13 pan and bake 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Apple Cake

Took an apple baking/cooking break over the weekend and then this past Sunday picked right back up again with Apple Crisp (a request from Alan) and then to use up all but four apples, I made three loaves of Apple Cinnamon Bread from one of the many, many blogs I read Two Peas and Their Pod. I will admit to an error in the baking of these loaves.I simply forgot to put the Cinnamon/sugar topping on before baking. Somehow I realized this as I was attempting to go to sleep – well after they had come out of the oven. Worry not though, they were still absolutely divine. So much so that on Tuesday after both Alan and I had taken a loaf to our respective work places, I made Alan take the last loaf in, for fear that left in the house, I would have eaten the entire thing.  Check out their recipe:

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/apple-cinnamon-bread/

So for now, our household is sans any more apples and probably after a month or so, I will be itching to bake one of these delicious recipe again. Absolutely nothing says fall more than the smell of apples baking.

Try out one or two or all of the recipes and let me know which one you enjoyed. Or if you have a favorite apple recipe, please feel free to pass it along.

As always thanks for reading.

-Jessica

photo: me


